Energy Healing - The Chakra System

In healing, the chakras of the patient are often of central importance to the healer as he or she works. Because the chakras are so important, and because in this Chios level you will begin to channel energy into them and sense the energy field above them, it is beneficial to gain some understanding of them. There are seven major chakras in the human body, and also numerous less-important minor ones. The chakras are energy centers, points of energy flow, and act as energy junctions in the body. They are energy processing centers, and the chakra system (comprised of the seven major chakras) is our energetic connection to the realm of pure consciousness and our spiritual essence. The energetic operations in them are what make every aspect of our bodily, emotional, mental and spiritual life possible. Each of the seven major chakras, or primary energy centers, has its own character and corresponds to a unique aspect of our being. They are patterns of energy, and are shaped something like funnels or whirlpools of energy. Their vortices lie inside the body, along the spinal cord (which corresponds to a central energy channel) and up into the head (see diagram.)

Because the chakra system is the central processing center for every aspect of our being, blockage or other energetic dysfunction in the chakras usually gives rise to disorders in the body, mind or spirit. A defect in the energy flow through any given chakra will result in a defect in the energy provided to certain portions of the physical body, as well as an impairment in the entire energy field’s ability to process energy—affecting all levels of the being. This is because the energy field is a holistic entity; every part of it affects every other part.

The chakras do not actually exist as “objects” in the physical body (they are actually energy patterns) but there are certain specific locations on the body, where you will place your hands, that correspond to the chakras, five along the spine, and two on the head. Each chakra also has a certain true color of the visible light spectrum associated with it—the intrinsic color of the chakra. Because the chakras are spiritual entities, it is impossible to convey a complete explanation of the nature of each chakra in words alone, but the table below will provide an introduction to the nature of each.


Name/Location Character

True Color


Crown of Head Totality of Beingness. Spiritual Perfection.



Forehead (3rd Eye) Visualization. Psychic Sight.



Pit of Throat Communication. Creative Expression.



Heart Universal Love. Compassion. Empathy.



Solar Plexus Creation of Self. Perception and Projection of Self.



Sacral (Pubic) Desire, Including Sexual Energy.



Base of Spine Physical Vitality. Survival.


Each of the seven chakras has both a front (usually dominant) component, and a rear (usually less dominant) component, which are intimately related. The seventh and first chakras, though, are usually represented and thought of as having only the one dominant component, as it is far, far more significant than the weaker component in these two chakras. The seventh chakra extends vertically upwards above the head. The first chakra extends forwards from the base of the spine, and downwards, at roughly a 45 degree angle, although its exact position will vary from person to person. The other five chakras, spaced between the first and seventh, have at their appropriate locations a front component extending out the front of the body and a rear component extending out the rear of the body.

During energy channeling, the energy field healer receives the energy through his or her own chakra system, from all around, and from the Earth, too, which also acts as a conductor. The energy circulates in the entire universe, and conducts through the Earth, and also through the atmosphere, and into the healer’s body. When you “call in” the energy, you are receiving a greater quantity of it, so that you may pass it on, through your hands, into your patient. You receive the extra energy at first primarily through your first and seventh chakras, but later, with practice, through all your chakras equally.

Aside from the entry of energy into the body through the seven major chakras, there is also an upward flow of energy in the body, from the lower to higher energy centers. The lower chakras are simpler-functioning, but as one ascends upwards there is a greater degree of sophisticated and more spiritual functioning, intimately related to the life experience and state of being of the individual. The seven chakras, with the correspondences that exist between them and different aspects of our being and the interrelationships between them, are of great importance to the energy field healer. It is important to know, however, that an “intellectual” understanding of the chakra system is not a useful adjunct to healing work. The true energy field healer will learn to expand his or her consciousness and experience each of the chakras as a realm of being. As you begin to sense the chakras, as you practice the passing of hands and energy channeling, you may wish to begin to allow some sense of the unique nature of each chakra form in your awareness. You may also begin to gain some insight into the condition of each chakra in your patients, as well. In later Chios healing levels, you will learn more advanced methods for expanding your awareness in order to sense the condition of, and treat, the chakra system of your patients.

This information was excerpted from